The Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards

The 39th Annual poetry contest will open for submissions in early January 2017. The submission deadline is March 13, 2017.  Submission rules and judging information.

The Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards poetry contest is open to all adult and high school age Chicago area poets. The elementary and middle school category is open only to Evanston elementary and middle school students.

Every year hundreds of poems are submitted to this contest from Evanston and the greater Chicago area. Judges have included anti-apartheid activist Dennis Brutus,  Illinois Poet Laureate Kevin Stein and Pulitzer Prize winner Lisel Mueller.

An award ceremony will be held on April 23, 2017 where all prize-winners are invited to read their winning poetry and the judge reads from his or her work. The public is invited to attend.

The awards are funded by an endowment to the library in memory of Jo-Anne Hirshfield, who found pleasure and delight in poetry. Please contribute to the Jo-Anne Hirshfield Poetry Award Fund to help inspire and support emerging poets of all ages.

Leave a Reply